Small Business Support

Nominate a Small Business of the Month!

Each month, OED recognizes outstanding entrepreneurs who contribute to the economic vitality and cultural vibrance of our city. These businesses exemplify the innovation, tenacity and spirit of community that are the hallmarks of Seattle small businesses. 

Submit a Nomination!

Owners Trey Lamont and John Devine in front of Jerk Shack with their small business of the month certificate

This Month's Winner

Feed Unavailable

Pedro Gomez headshot

Pedro Gómez
Director of Small Business Development


Fun Fact
"My first business was as a 6-year-old selling water and sodas to farmworkers in the fields of California."

Key Neighborhoods
South Park, South Lake Union, Lake City, Queen Anne, Fremont, Belltown

Contact Pedro 
206-733-9445 | pedro.gomez@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, Español

AJ Cari headshot

    AJ Cari
    Small Business and Construction Impacts Advocate


Fun Fact
“I enjoy being active and outside all seasons. Whether it’s cycling in the spring, paddle boarding in the summer, hiking in the fall or skiing in the winter, it’s always good to get out with my family and friends.”

Contact AJ
(206) 684-0133aj.cari@seattle.gov

Headshot of Sarah Domondon

Sarah Domondon
Small Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I believe in small business as a tool for building community power. My role as an advocate allows me to serve the community that raised me."

Contact Sarah
(206) 256-5123 | sarah.domondon@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, Tagalog

Stephanie Gowing Headshot

Stephanie Gowing
Green Business Advocate


Fun Fact
“I hold an annual clothes exchange with friends — I haven't purchased anything new for a while!”

Contact Stephanie
(206) 684-3698 | stephanie.gowing@seattle.gov

Domonique Meeks headshot

Domonique Meeks
Small Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I have a Masters degree from the University of Washington’s School of Information and have a passion for sharing community stories through my podcasts and documentary work."

Contact Domonique
206-256-5433 | domonique.meeks@seattle.gov

Scott Plusquellec Headshot

Scott Plusquellec
Nightlife Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"Once got invited on a first date to hang out backstage at a production of Phantom of the Opera in London. Ended up helping with costume changes during scene turnovers."

Contact Scott
(206) 247-4789scott.plusquellec@seattle.gov

Yonas Seifu Headshot

Yonas Seifu
Small Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I received my Master of Business Administration from the University of Washington Foster School of Business with a focus on marketing and product management."

Key Neighborhoods 
Beacon Hill, Central District, Columbia City, Othello, Rainier Beach, West Seattle

Contact Yonas 
206-733-9743 | yonas.seifu@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, Amharic 

Jennifer Tam headshot

Jennifer Tam
Food Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I grew up in the restaurant industry, I’ve worked in restaurants, and I believe food is a universal language that brings cultures together. Everyone has to eat!"

Contact Jennifer
206-684-3436 | jennifer.tam@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, conversational Cantonese, conversational Mandarin

Maria Lupita Gomez Headshot

Maria “Lupita” Gomez
Resource Team Lead


Fun Fact
“I wake up and go to sleep to music.”

Contact Lupita
(206) 561-2124 | maria.gomez@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, Spanish

Shaprece Richardson Headshot

Shaprece Richardson  
Small Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I once sang with Prince!"

Contact Shaprece
(206) 914-7207 | shaprece.richardson@seattle.gov

    Eduardo Rojas Headshot

Eduardo Rojas Esparza
Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist


Fun Fact
"I order all the sauces when I visit Red Robin."

Contact Eduardo
(206) 561-5181 | eduardo.rojas@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, Spanish

    Bereket Bobby Tameru Headshot

Bereket “Bobby” Tameru
Senior Grants and Contracts Specialist


Fun Fact
"I have a passion for pickup basketball, football, soccer, kickball, and anything else that involves being active and competitive."

Contact Bobby
(206) 561-2009 | bereket.tameru@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, Amharic