Surveillance Advisory Working Group

The Surveillance Ordinance also includes a Working Group. The primary role of this group is to provide a privacy and civil liberties impact assessment for each SIR. These assessments shall include a description of the potential impact of the surveillance technology on civil rights and liberties and potential disparate impacts on communities of color and other marginalized communities.

If you are interested in serving on the Surveillance Working Group, please submit your application online. Under "Which Boards would you like to apply for?" select Community Surveillance Working Group. Please also include a copy of your latest resume and submit by August 15, 2021.

Working Group Members  

  • Michelle Merriweather, President and CEO, Urban League of Metropolitan Seattle
  • Jennifer Lee, Technology and Liberty Project Manager, ACLU of Washington
  • Kayleigh McNiel, Member at Large
  • Joe Woolley, Member at Large

Surveillance Advisory Working Group Meetings

The Working Group will meet at the following times:

Thursday, 9/10/2020 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm: Virtual
Tuesday, 10/26/19 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm: City Hall, Room 370
Tuesday, 9/10/19 12:00 pm -1:30 pm: City Hall, Sam Smith Room Agenda Minutes
Tuesday, 7/23/19 12:00 pm - 12:30 pm: Via phone: (206) 386-1200, pin: 8004784#  Agenda Minutes
Tuesday, 6/25/19 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm: City Hall - Sam Smith Room Agenda Meeting Minutes
Tuesday, 5/28/19 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm: Seattle City Hall, Room 370 Agenda Meeting Minutes
Friday, 5/17/19 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm: via Skype or phone (see agenda for how to dial in Agenda Meeting Minutes
Tuesday, 4/23/19 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm: Seattle City Hall, Room 370 Agenda Meeting Minutes
Tuesday, 3/26/19 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm: Seattle City Hall, Room 370 Agenda Meeting Minutes
Tuesday, 2/26/19 10:30 am - 12:00 pm: Seattle Municipal Tower, Suite 1860 Agenda Meeting Minutes
Thursday, 2/14/19 10:00 am - 11:30 am: City Hall L2 - Boards and Commissions Room Agenda Meeting Minutes